La, Me, De, En, A – My Trials of Learning Spanish

Posted on November 5, 2010 by

0


Tengo empatía para las personas que estudian inglés.  ¡Es muy difícil aprender un idioma nuevo!  Mi problema mas grande es usar correctamente las preposiciones, los pronombres de objetos indirectos y objetos directos en las frases.  En español cada nombre es femenino o masculino – en ingles no existe.  No siempre me recuerdo a usar la correcta forma.  Tengo un otro problema: la estructura correcta de la frase.  ¿Donde debo poner el directo o el indirecto pronombre en la frase – antes o después del verbo?  Por ejemplo:

Ingles:  I like that coat.  I like it.

Español: Me gusta la chaquetaLa me gusta.

 Pero, aquí es la peor para mí: 

Ingles: Did you buy a present for Jim? Yes, I bought it for him.

Español: ¿Le has comprado el regalo a Jim? Si, se lo he comprado.  

Esta estructura es extraño a las personas de habla ingles.   ¡Así, tengo que estudiar mucho! 

También, hay muchas palabras nuevas a aprender.  Está necesario a aprender y usar estas palabras para una buena conversación.  Una manera a recordar las palabras está a hablar con los nativos en las calles, las tiendes, y en los restaurantes.  ¡Así, voy a ir de compras!    Yo escribiré sobre este en una otra blog.

I have empathy for people learning English now that I am studying Spanish.  It’s very hard to learn a new language, especially as an adult.  One problem I have with Spanish is that nouns are masculine or feminine – and 85% of the time I get this wrong!  Oh, there are some tricks – like if the noun ends in “a” it’s feminine – but the problem is you have to pay attention to the preposition (which has to follow the same form, but adjectives as well.  But the biggest problem I am having right now is with the correct placement of direct and objective pronouns.  The sentence structure in Spanish is different than in English in many ways.  You can see a couple of examples above.  Also, the adjective comes after the noun, not before it.  So, it takes some getting used to.  And of course with more practice – reading, writing, speaking – it will become rote. 

One funny note – I asked Bill to review the above entry in Spanish.  And of course, what did I get wrong – many prepositions, verb tenses and pronouns!  Anyway, no andw that I am only in school from 9:30-1:30 I have time to practice the language with the locals.  So look for my next entry about shopping.

Posted in: Uncategorized