La Primera Semana de Clases/The First Week of Classes

Posted on October 17, 2010 by

1


La semana pasada comencé mis clases.  ¡Me gusta mucho!  En la mañana, mi clase es cuatro horas.  El foco es gramática, vocabulario y practicando hablar.  Entonces, yo tomo una clase de cultura.  Es muy divertido porque aprendamos sobre Sevilla incluyendo: los monumentos, los barrios, la gastronomía y la historia.  La última clase es intensiva.  Enfocamos  en tipos de verbos o especial vocabulario.  La clase el viernes, jugamos un juego de conjeturar. 

Hay tres diferencias entre mi trabajo y mi esquela: Uno: Cuando voy a trabajo tengo que levantarme muy temprano.  En Sevilla, me levanto a las ocho porque no tengo que estar en la escuela hasta las nueve y medio.  Dos: En Sevilla, no tengo que ir a algunas reuniones. ¡Que suerte para mi! Tres: Mi escuela es cinco minutos de nuestro apartamento, asi puedo caminar.  Mi trabajo es mas or menos setenta kilometers de mi casa in Rhode Island.

I started my classes last week.  I really like the program.  I’m in the first level but came into a class that was already in progress.  It was a good fit for me because although I know some words, I only know the present verb tense.  This class is moving fairly quickly and I expect to be learning a lot in a short time.  The day is pretty long – 9:30 -4:00.  I’m taking 3 types of classes:  the first is what I would call a standard class similar to any language class you had in high school or college.  The next two classes are part of the super-intensive program.  There is a culture class which is a lot of fun.  I’ve learned a lot about the area and this weekend Bill and I did a lot of exploring outside of our neighborhood.  In the last class we focus on a specific thing for example new vocabulary or specific verbs.  There are only 3 of us in that class. 

One of the things I was concerned about going to school was the age of the other students.  Turns out there are a variety of people – all ages, all walks of life and circumstance.  So far everyone I’ve met is very nice and I’ve made friends quickly.  I’m very glad that I took this opportunity to learn the language especially here in this beuatiful city.

Posted in: Sevilla